“I am not a fucking breeder”

SLC writes:
“One of my father’s favorite ways of hurting me psychologically was to repeat the phrase, ‘YOU’RE GONNA END UP JUST LIKE YOUR MOTHER.’ This cut to my core because of the disturbed things such a statement communicated. My mother is a very broken woman, struggles with PTSD and anxiety, depression, drug abuse. She’s also the smartest, kindest, most fascinating woman I’ve ever known. The irony is, my mother ‘ended up’ that way because of the torture my father committed against her, the torture that, in the very moment he was saying it, he was committing against me. Without realizing it, he was saying, ‘I am hurting you right now and so you will end up just like her,’ all the while believing he was saying, ‘You are just as worthless as your mother was.’ He is, and was, too dense to see the darkness in that.”

motherhood is a feminist issue

A powerful piece that includes graphic descriptions of male violence 

By SLC

The word “breeder” means more to me than any word should mean to a person, but I guess that’s the modus operandi of slurs. I want to start off by saying that I am not a mother. I am not a mother and I will never be a mother, by choice, in large part due to the word “breeder.” I wanted to write this post for *my* mother, and for the mother I’ll never be but could have been, had that pesky little word not informed my worldview so early.

Before I get into my personal relationship to the word, I’d like to offer up a real-time example of the damage that word has done to society, to the legal system, and to the media.

Enter, exhibit 1:

http://www.post-gazette.com/local/2014/09/25/New-charges-filed-against-Wilkinsburg-mother-in-child-endangerment-case/stories/201409250308

The title of this article is “WILKINSBURG MOTHER FACES NEW…

View original post 2,842 more words

Leave a Reply

