Do Not Call Me Cisgender. You Do Not Have My Permission To Name Me.

Uppity Biscuit

Do Not Call Me Cisgender. You Do Not Have My Permission To Name Me.

Start/General definitions:

Cisgender is a neologism meaning “not transgender,” that is, a gender identity or performance in a gender role that society considers to match or be appropriate for one’s sex. The prefix cis- means “on this side of” or “not across” (cf. cisatlantic, cisalpine).

The term has been given credit as being created by Carl Buijs, a transsexual man from the Netherlands, in 1995. Additional roots show the name being used on a transgender website prior to 1995.

The term transgender was coined in the 1970s by Virginia Prince, a cross-dresser, transvestite, femmiphile, transgenderist in the USA.

End/General definitions

Do not call me cisgender. You have no right or authority to name me without my consent.

Cisgender is a word used by persons who have decided to name me without…

View original post 589 more words

One thought on “Do Not Call Me Cisgender. You Do Not Have My Permission To Name Me.

  1. Right. Because if you say you have the right to name me and you say I don’t have the right to name you, in the absence of any definitive demonstration that I have more power, in terms of class analysis, than you do, then you are the bully, you are the abuser. And it’s pretty much women catching the flak here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

